How many whales are there in the ocean?



  • Whales are very big group of Aquatic Animals coming under the phylum Chordata.
  • Whales comes under the class of Mammalia and order of artiodactyla.
  • Whales are said to be fully aquatic, open ocean animals.
  • Which means, they can live, eat, mate, raise their young one and all other work inside the ocean.
  • The size of a whale can range from 2.6 meter long to the 29.9 meter long, all depending on its species.

The whales consist of eight extant species such as:

  1. The rorquals (Balaenopteridae).
  2. The right whales (Balaenidae).
  3. The pygmy right whale (Cetotheriidae).
  4. The grey whale (Eschrichtiidae).
  5. The belugas and narwhals (Monodontidae).
  6. The sperm whale (physeteridae).
  7. The dwarf and pygmy sperm whale (kogiidae).
  8. The beaked whale (Ziphiidae).

Earlier, whales were common hunter for the humankind to avail the advantages gained by whales and its productizes. However, now they are international law to prevent their extinction.

How many whales are there in the ocean?

  • Whales have been used in many different ways by humankind.
  • The parts of whales have been eaten with delicacy and the remaining part also were in used in different things, such as baleen has been used to weave baskets and fishing line.
  • Even their oil, skin has been used in pharmaceutical companies.
  • Whales has many uses, its each and every part has been said to be important.
  • Some whales are even used by humankind for their entertainment purpose.
  • Due to this reason there has been very great declination in their number causing it endangered species.
  • It is said that only about 75,000 whales are present around the world.

Fun Facts:

  1. The major reason for whales being endangered is whaling.
  2. The Whale “vomit” is used in perfumes made by hunkind.
  3. The ear wax accumulated inside the ear or a whale can show its age.

Related Questions:

  1. What is whaling?
  2. What kind of habitat a whale can survive?
  3. Who are the predators of whale?

True or False:

  1. Whales belongs to the kingdom Animalia.
  2. Whales belongs to the class Actinopyregii.
  3. Whales are mammalian animal.
  4. Whales are said to be partial aquatic.
  5. Wales can only roam in water, they need to come out for food.

Objective Quiz:

  1. Whales comes under the _______.
    1. Phylum Chordata.
    2. Phylum Annelida.
    3. Phylum Mammalia.
    4. None of the above.
  2. Ziphiidae is the name of _________.
    1. The beaked whale.
    2. The sperm whale.
    3. The grey whale.
    4. None of the abov7e.
  3. Whales are protected by _______.
    1. International law act.
    2. National law act.
    3. Both 1l and 2).
    4. None of the above.
  4. Whales can _______ inside the water.
    1. Can give birth to baby.
    2. Can take the food as she she.
    3. Both 1) and 2).
    4. None of the above.
  5. Whales are said to be ______.
    1. Fully ocean.
    2. Fully dramatic
    3. Partially ocean.
    4. None of the above.

Related Articles


For Worksheets & PrintablesJoin Now